The Twin Cities Why do we call it that? What's included, what's it all about. Stay tuned!

The Twin Cities as we affectionately call them refer to the cities of Minneapolis and Saint Paul proper. How did we get this name? Back in the 1800's, the two cities were 14 miles apart which meant it would take a full day to travel between them. Saint Paul became a city first, in 1854, at a location that was easy to navigate to on the Mississippi. Minneapolis became a city in 1867, 15 years later. It was founded further up-river, because Saint Anthony Falls could provide power for the mills, hence the name nickname "Mill City."

The nickname for Saint Paul, "Pig's Eye", came from a squatter that sold illegal whisky to people at and nearby Fort Snelling. Pierre "Pigs Eye" Parrant was kicked out of the fort area and eventually made a claim on a tract of land that was just a little downriver, at Fountain Cave which is located on the modern day's Shepard Road.

Eventually both cities expanded and grew together.

Minneapolis and Saint Paul both have their own neighborhoods and I talk about them each in separate videos. Meanwhile I've also broken down the Twin Cities Metro Area into quadrants. In this particular video I'll list common cities in each of these quadrants, and of course I may have missed some cities but for the most part, I have the majority of what we call the twin cities.

But before I cover the quadrants, we have what we call the "inner ring" suburbs or "first ring" suburbs. These are usually defined as cities immediately adjacent to the core cities.

Inner ring:
Richfield, Edina, Hopkins, Saint Louis Park, Golden Valley, Crystal, Robbinsdale, Brooklyn Center, Columbia Heights, Saint Anthony, Lauderdale, Falcon Heights, Roseville, Maplewood, West Saint Paul.

North Metro:
Arden Hills, New Brighton, Fridley, Sprint Lake Park, Blaine, Shoreview

Northeast Metro:
Little Canada, Vadnais Heights, White Bear Lake, Lake Elmo

East Metro:
Oakdale, Maplewood, Woodbury

Southeast Metro:
Mendota Heights, Sunfish Lake, Inver Grove Heights, Saint Paul Park, Cottage Grove

South Metro includes cities such as
Bloomington, Eagan, Savage, Apple Valley, Rosemount, Prior Lake, burnsville
Lakeville and Farmington

Southwest Metro:
Eden Prairie, Chanhassen, Shakopee, Chaska

West Metro:
New Hope, Plymouth, Minnetonka, Orono, Mound, along with several small cities around Lake Minnetonka

Northwest Metro:
Brooklyn Park, Maple Grove, Rogers, Albertville, Anoka, Champlin, Ramsey

Each of the quadrants have their own videos and highlights of each area. Links are in the description below.

An overview of the various areas of the Twin Cities, and what we call our Twin Cities Metro Area. If you are moving to the Twin Cities, you can get a small sense of each section of the Twin Cities.

0:00 Introduction
0:24 Overview and History
1:42 Inner Ring
2:17 Quadrants of the Twin Cities
3:30 Contact information

If you are looking to move to the Twin Cities, contact me at

W E B:
B L O G:
F A C E B O O K:

Brought to you by:
RE/MAX Results
7700 France Ave S #230, Edina, MN 55435
Steven Hong - founder of Full Circle Home Team
License #20372354 Each office is independently owned and operated.
All photos and videos are my own.
Maps are Google Maps

moving to minneaoplis, moving to saint paul mn, moving to twin cities, living in the twin cities, living in minneapolis, living in minnesota, living in saint paul mn,

© Copyright 2021 - Steven Hong - All Rights Reserved. Each office independently owned and operated.
homepencilenvelopeuserusersstoretagphone-handsetmap-markerlaptop-phoneconstructiongiftleafbullhorn linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram